September 1, 2015

  • This morning I got a call at 7:10, from a nurse at my mom's home. She said mom was feeling very hot in the night and was taking her clothes off in bed. She agreed to go to hospital to get checked out, although it was expected she'd probably be sent home. I know she's been feeling sick the last few days, but said she hadn't vomited or had diarrhea. Last night we spoke about 10:15 and she said she was feeling a bit better and had asked the nurse for some tea and toast.

    I called the hospital at 2:15pm and the doctor happened to be right by the phone, so he updated me. They're keeping her in because she had reported belly pain and the home said she had diarrhea. They were waiting on an abdominal CT scan, but figured she has a kidney infection and a bit of C. Difficile. Yay. That explains why she's been feeling so awful!

    So she's on IV fluids and antibiotics and will be admitted until she improves. Her mind is OK, she's just physically sick. I called the home with an update an thanked them for sending her in.